Martini Kitchen: Poached Eggs

microwave poached egg

Is it because I live in New York City and live a fast-paced lifestyle? Or would I still not cook if I had a kitchen the size of my apartment and all the time in the world?

I have a suspicion I wouldn’t really cook anyway. But there are a few things I can throw together. And in case any of you out there are living the bachelor-kitchen lifestyle, I thought I’d share my new favorite thing: microwave poached eggs.*

A poached egg has always seemed like a delicate intrigue. I’ve tried to get that perfect poach for years and I’ve always messed it up. Then, in a fit of laziness, I googled “egg in microwave” and found out that there need not be a shroud of mystery around this. So simple.

– Fill a microwave-safe bowl or mug half with water (I use my Anthropologie Monogrammed Mug. It just seems to be the perfect size and makes me feel fancier that this recipe indicates I am.)

– Crack your egg into the water.

– Cover the mug with a saucer.

– And stick in the microwave for about a minute, 1:15, depending on how runny you like it.

Lift the egg out with a slotted spoon. If you don’t have a slotted spoon, just use a regular one and it will all be fine.

I put my perfect poached egg on a piece of Udi’s Chia toast, which I make in the oven because I do not own a toaster. Salt, pepper, whatever you like.

Breakfast like a grown up.

*A note about eggs: I have been a vegetarian for about 15 years. I’ve tried veganism before, but am not a vegan full time. For me, an egg is a nearly perfect food. And if I can get them from non-factory farms, then I do. These are the diet choices that work for me, and I’m aware they don’t work for everyone.

This breakfast image comes from the lovely blog Dinner With Julie.

3 thoughts on “Martini Kitchen: Poached Eggs

Leave a Reply

