Notes From a Newbie

You guys, I wrote something.

It’s an article for Teachasana in their Notes From a Newbie column about stepping in to the role of a teacher.

Of course I’ve done a lot of writing here, but I haven’t worked with an editor for someone else’s site before. Pamela was great and really helped me focus the article and turn my normal blog ramblings into a ‘Top 5 Tips’ kind of story.

If you’re interested in hearing my take-aways and tips subbing a class you normally attend as a student, go read it here!

I’m including some of my more behind-the-scenes emotions about it here too because, uhm, that’s what a blog is for, no?

When I am a student in a class, I usually don’t think about how my teacher is feeling at all. I’m just there to practice. Maybe she’s exhausted, maybe she feels amazing! Maybe she just got off a frustrating phone call. To be honest, normally, I just don’t care. I want her to guide a good class and that’s about it. Because as a student, it’s kind of all about me and my practice.

But as a teacher: I was nervous.

I knew I wasn’t going to teach the exact same class as our regular teacher. But I hoped I could hold the space. When the students showed up, I reminded them that what happens on their mat is their practice – not mine, not our regular teacher’s. Ultimately, each one of us is in charge of our own practice.

With all the nerves and excitement that come with teaching a new a class, I’d kind of forgotten a key part of yoga. It’s not my class. It’s about the practice. It’s not about who’s in front of the room, even when it’s me.

In a way, that idea really liberated me to be myself and let go of the expectations I was afraid the other students would have. It helped remind me that the class isn’t about me, me, me – even though I was nervous about my performance. It’s always about the practice, no matter whose voice is calling the postures.

One thought on “Notes From a Newbie

  1. It can be challenging. It does provide us with the opportunity to “check in” with our ego.
    Teaching in front of a new group allows us to be the “expert” or the “wise one”.
    Being in front of our peers who have seen our early efforts , our aborted asanas while we were just trying something new is different.
    No false shield of expertise can be presented by us. What we are left with is just the truth of our practice. We then must be who we are in our practice and offer our peers and students a safe environment for us all to grow and learn.

Leave a Reply

