This & That: Confidence Booster

…if you are feeling a little less-than a perfect-posture-yogi in class (it’s a trick of the monkey mind,of course, but I sometimes feel like this), try that fancy-looking posture because it’s much easier than it looks!

You guys, one of my teachers led us through this posture and I couldn’t believe how easy it was for almost everyone in the class. Yes, there’s some fear to get over. But it is a safe posture for almost everyone. If you can do downdog without injury, you can do this posture.

When I did it, I felt really accomplished and fancy. I know, I know. This is NOT the goal of yoga. But it’s nice to feel good about the simple stuff sometimes.

Here is a video that shows how to get into the posture with a partner – specifically :30-:50. This video is specifically for lover-yoga-partners, so just take that into account. You can do this posture with anyone (I practiced with a woman in my class I’d never met). You can just skip the hugging of your partners rib cage with your legs as you exit the pose. Or not. You know. Whatever.

The first image is from Equinox. The second image comes from a free yoga class website, here.

Leave a Reply

