Listening

I had my yoga bag packed and had every intention of going back to sweat myself nauseous at a Bikram class. I was hydrated. I even bought the little shorts. But you know what? I didn’t like it.

Oh, I had these Eat, Pray, Love visions of how this practice was going to transform me, body and mind. That in 30 days I’d sweat out everything that was ever wrong with me and I’d be THAT girl, the Bikram girl.

I don’t think I’m that girl, you guys. I was dreading class. And then I remembered that there’s free yoga in Bryant Park just a couple of blocks from my office. Regular temperatures? An hour long? Outside? Much more my style. The relief I felt was palpable.

So, to outdoor yoga I went. And it wasn’t perfect, and it didn’t transform my life. But I really liked it.

Image from the Bryant Park Blog.

Leave a Reply

