Post Cards from Yoga School

This weekend was another practice teach. I felt a little unprepared, and it showed. I taught Matsyendrasana (spinal twist) backwards, which would have been great had all of my students been either pregnant or recovering from abdominal surgery. But, aside from that, it went well.

Most of the yoga I’ve been practicing lately has been of the “off-the-mat” variety. Breathing, being aware, remembering compassion while the work I do and the people I do it with are spinning wildly out of control in a completely nonsensical way. It’s easy to get wrapped up in office drama and politics, and I do find myself bathing in that stream every now and again.

But in between each fake work-crisis, I try to take a deep breath and put everything into perspective. All of these emails are coming from people. And those people are panicking about something that, really, doesn’t matter that much. But they are attached, and so am I. And so, I try to stop, and take the time to figure out the best way to proceed. The best way to get the work done, and make people stress less.

I don’t always do it well, but, once again, that’s why they call it practice.

Leave a Reply

