Flat on My Mat, Part II


Image from Chicago Yoga Center’s website, Yogamind.com by Nancy Van Kanegan

Much thanks to Dale for the encouragement. I got back on the mat this morning, and after doing a 15 minutes of a 20-minute heart-opening sequence, I stood up, put on some tea and got in the shower.

After doing an intense camel pose, I felt my heart racing and my face heating up. It felt like panic and I jumped out of it as fast as I could. I couldn’t help but laugh at myself a little bit. I have no idea what I am so scared of, or what this is all bringing up. But now I’m kind of curious to discover it. So I vacilate between wanting to dive in to all the drama and messiness, and wanting desperately to avoid the whole process. Right now, I’m somewhere in between. One part of me wants to leave work right now and get myself on that mat just to see what will happen. Another part just wants to go home and zone out in front of the television. Maybe I can fit in both of those things tonight…

Leave a Reply

