Riding the Brakes

I’m trying to see what happens to other people when they’re on a roll. I’ve asked friends, talked to family. When things are going really well, how do you feel?

Of course, the quick answer is to say “Of course I feel great when things are going my way!” But is it really true? For a bunch of people, this was a really confusing question. But some of my friends admit to feeling uncomfortable when things are rolling along smoothly, as if they are waiting for the other shoe to drop. Others can only seem to find the negative and can’t even see the positive when it’s there.

I always think of mindful living as a safety net – a habit to fall back on when things are tough. But it’s much more complicated than that. It’s a way to enjoy every moment – not just the struggles but the triumphs as well.

Things are going really well for me right now. I need to stop and acknowledge that, because I seem to be trying my hardest to ignore it. I’m surprised at my own reaction, actually. Is it somehow easier to keep a brave-face in a crisis than it is to face the possibility of happiness?

I wonder, too, if it is cynicism or guilt that clouds these moments. Why is it difficult to enjoy good things?

Leave a Reply

