Mirrors


Picture: Japanese flowering apricot (Prunus mume ‘Peggy Clarke’) blossoming on Lily Pool Terrace. [via Brooklyn Botanic Garden]

There was a time when I was trying to figure out what to do with myself after living and working at a yoga retreat for three months, and my M&M partner was asking similar questions after having been overworked on a production gig in LA. Now, several years later, she’s in Chicago working as a full-time yoga teacher, and I’m here in NY doing advertising.

It seems like quite a switch – but really, I feel like we’re two sides of the same coin. We’re not always in the same place at the same time, but we’ve traveled a similar path.

When I got back from my relaxing Chicago visit, two things happened. First, I filled out my Kripalu YTT application. It made me think about why teaching, and why now. I went through all the reasons why this would be a good time, and all the reasons why it might not be right. But I filled it out nonetheless, and kept it in my desk drawer like pocket aces.

The second thing that happened was, I had a review at work. A glowing, surprising, validating review. One that made me think that it’s not quite time to drop out, not just yet.

So instead of skipping town, and immersing myself in an alternate reality, I’m working on making this reality work. I’m re-committing myself to classes, getting rid of a lot of clutter in my apartment and in my life, taking deep breaths and indulging myself in fresh flowers – and visits to Chicago – whenever possible.

Leave a Reply

