Circle M

Massage, massage, massage!

I just gave my second massage this week. I’d forgotten how this feels – exhilarating and exhausting all at the same time. There’s a moment during a good massage when you’re “in the zone.” You just tune out all external stimuli except what is coming through your hands. It’s as if you’re having a conversation with the muscles – you ask them what they need, they tell you what kind of tension they feel; if they’re scared or open; tight, crunchy, elastic or warm. It’s an absolutely amazing moment. And sometimes I feel as if I can hear or smell what they need.

I had just a tiny glimpse of that tonight. I’m still rusty. My transitions are a little sloppy. I’m timid at times, and I’ve forgotten a lot of technique since last June. But I’m going on education, intuition and, increasingly, passion.

– mmny

Leave a Reply

