Lapsitarian

Do I contradict myself?
Very well then I contradict myself,
(I am large, I contain multitudes.)

– Walt Whitman Song of Myself

I refuse to let this become a blog about how I’m not keeping up in my practice. The intention behind this dialogue was to explore the balance – between work and life, mindfulness and escapism, living in the present and getting caught up in everything else.

Being in the world, but not of the world.

It’s exactly this thought that I am trying to keep in mind as I become a full-fledged New Yorker. Though, it hardly feels like a transition at this point. Boston seems a lifetime ago. But I’m aware that it’s all transition – all movement, all change, all the time.

The pace is wild, especially at work. Sixteen-hour days are not uncommon. And it’s hard to keep up with self-care like yoga and meditation, when all I can think about is napping and letting loose. The tendency when working hard is to “treat myself” with karaoke, a million beers, and a blurry cab ride home.

I’m glad I took my weekend at Kripalu. It helped remind me about the balance. That I don’t have to be all yoga all the time, or all New York Ad-Girl all the time. That I am a little bit of both, and more.

– mmmy

2 thoughts on “Lapsitarian

  1. M&M – Not sure how I stumbled across your blog, but I’m glad I did. Sounds we are at similar stages of life: striving to maintain a spiritual center and yoga practice while our careers careen us forward, which makes us want to play harder than we should. And moving to NYC! That’s a very full plate. I’ll look forward to reading more about your journey, and maybe sharing the path a bit.

Leave a Reply

